You are here:
Print

Saving an Existing Document – Using the Add-In Method

Saving an Existing Document – Using the Add-In Method

When you save in an existing document, the assigned “metadata” or information about the document, such as Name and Status will already be in FileVision, however these may need to be updated after saving back in a document. For Example, when you first saved a document it may have been saved with the status of “Unsigned” now that it is saved back in and signed you will need to change the status to “Signed.”   Documents can then be uploaded by Add-In method (as described below) or the manual method as describe in a later section

Procedure

Follow the steps below to assign information and upload a document:

Once you have made changes to a document that has been previous saved into FileVision you will need to save it back into FileVision using the Update Existing icon in the FileVision Tab located at the top of Word or Excel

If you are not logged into FileVision you will be asked to login first or if this is the first time you have used the add-ins it will ask you to log in using your FileVision User Name and password

Once you press the Update Existing Button you will be asked if you want to Save the document or Discard the document.

  • Check in without updating – Will not save the document and the Version Control Status will now indicate that the Document is Available for editing.
  • Cancel – Will not save the document and the Version Control Status will still indicate that the Document is CHECKED OUT and not available for editing.
  • Save – By default your file will already be loaded but you must press UPLOAD to complete the uploading of this document back into FileVision

  • The Version Control Status will now indicate that the Document is Available for editing.

Saving a Word Document into a PDF – Using the Add-In Method

 

Procedure

Follow the steps below to assign information and upload a document:

Once your document is ready to save as a PDF you will need to save it into FileVision using the Save as PDF icon in the FileVision Tab located at the top of Word or Excel

If you are not logged into FileVision you will be asked to login first or if this is the first time you have used the add-ins it will ask you to log in using your FileVision User Name and password

The Add-in will take the user to the Document Upload screen and have the Document sitting as a temporary document until the following fields are completed

First Step

  • Auto filing: You will need to select your Clients Name (the format is Surname, First name and Ref Number) if you type the first few letters of the clients surname and then click the down arrow the list will start from there.
  • Case – (Client Department Only) You must select a Case if a case has not defaulted, the case you select dictates what main folder the document will be stored under, ie In Residents, or Community Services.

 

Other Steps

  • Department: By default, the Client Department, this is to save client-based documents.
  • Type – User selects the type of document they are uploading.
  • Folder – User selects the folder they wish the document to be stored in.
  • Autofiling – for Client if Client is selected prior to opening Document Input this will be populated with client name, if client was not selected please select client from drop down menu, if Department – Client was selected.
  • Doc Information – You can write in additional information about the document if you want.
  • Status – by default, Draft will display, however there are other document status’s that can be assigned, this will also form part of the document name

 

 

  • Document Date – Defaults to the current date but can be over written if need be.
  • Document Saved – This defaults to the current date, but can be overwritten.
  • Document Name – The document name will automatically display, you can add to/alter the name by clicking in the field and typing.

    If you change a Keyword such as Status, Folder or Type after you type in a new document name it will revert the document name back using the Automatic Naming Rule. 

    So please ensure you update the Document Name last.

Previous Saving a New Document – Manual Method
Next Saving an Existing Document – Using the Manual Method