You are here:
Print

Saving an Existing Document – Using the Manual Method

Saving an Existing Document – Using the Manual Method

When you save in an existing document, the assigned “metadata” or information about the document, such as Name and Status will already be in FileVision, however these may need to be updated after saving back in the document.

For Example, when you first saved a document it may have been saved with the status of “Unsigned” now that it is saved back in and signed you will need to change the status to “Signed.”   Documents can then be uploaded by Add-In method (as described below) or the manual method as describe in a later section

Procedure

Follow the steps below to assign information and upload a document:

Once you have made changes to a document that has been previous saved into FileVision you will need to save it back into FileVision, by default FileVision will download the document into your “Downloads” Folder, if you have saved it somewhere else you will need to take note of the file location

if you are unsure about where the document is saved locally on your device click on the FILE tab in word and on the top left hand corner is the location of the document

Search for your client and navigate to the Document View screen and find the document in the folder you are wanting to save back to, select the document so you can see the Document Details section for that document

Press the Check In button, Button you will be asked if you want to Save the document or Discard the document.

  • Check in without updating – Will not save the document and the Version Control Status will now indicate that the Document is Available for editing.

 

  • Cancel – Will not save the document and the Version Control Status will still indicate that the Document is CHECKED OUT and not available for editing.

 

  • Save – You will be asked to choose the file you wish to resave; you can drag and drop the document if it is still sitting at the bottom of the browser or search for it in the Choose File Using the Choose File button you must know where the document is locally saved on your devise.  You must press UPLOAD to complete the uploading of this document back into FileVision

  • The Version Control Status will now indicate that the Document is Available for editing.
Previous Saving an Existing Document – Using the Add-In Method